RDS3 allows you to give your users and collaborators access to view and change documentation from anywhere, anytime, from any device with a web-browser and connection to the Internet while maintaining security, document control and revision history.
HOW IT WORKS
Create your RDS3 Workspace
https://www.rds3.com/your_workspace/
Your workspace is yours. The data within it is yours. It is accessible only to you and to other users you create, and only with the permissions you assign.
Login to your Workspace
https://www.rds3.com/your_workspace/
You will log in with the Master Username and Password you created during registration. This “Master” account has administrative control of the workspace, which allows you to manage groups, users and files. And it is the only account that has control over your RDS3 billing and service changes.
Develop a Plan for Permissions
Permissions in the RDS3 Workspace are by user GROUP and FOLDER
The root folders you create are the most important. When you create root folders, they have no permissions and can only be seen by other administrators. Once permissions are set, users with Write access to a folder can create a subfolder within it and the permissions from the parent folder will copy over to the new folder. These can be changed later by an administrator. For an example, we have created the folders to the left in our Workspace, for a small technology company.

Next, we click the Manage Groups icon in the Workspace to create groups for HR, IT, Sales and AEA -- a vendor with whom we collaberate on documents with. Now to assign permissions to our folders. Clicking on a Group name pulls up their Folder Permissions as shown on the right. For HR, we’ll click the Employee Information folder twice to toggle their access to Read and then to Read/Write. We’ll repeat this for the IT group to give them read access to Employee Information and Read/Write access to all other folders. And so on for the other groups we have created. If a group has ‘No Access’ to a folder, they will not see the folder listed at all.
Create your Users
Clicking on Manage Users will let you add new users. You'll set their default username and password, and the group they are assigned to. You can set a user as an Administrator. Administrators have read/write access to all folders, regardless of permissions. They can also manage groups, manage user accounts and delete files. Users can change their username/password and other information listed for them once they log in.
Put your RDS3 Workspace to work!
Users can now login with the username/password you created for them and begin using the workspace. They login at the same place you do, https://www.rds3.com/your_workspace/. To edit a file, they will Check it Out -- this puts a lock on the file so that it cannot be checked out by other users and lets others know who is currently working on the document. Once the document is modified, they can Check it In, which allows them to upload the new version, and they can add a Comment or Version. In the meantime, all previous versions of the file are accessible for view and download.


Home | FAQ | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About Us | Contact Us

Copyright © 2013 RDS3, a division of Code Ink, LLC. All rights reserved.